Some believe that history has little to teach us about today while others think that the study of the past helps us to understand the present. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different opinions about whether history is crucial to comprehend the present picture of the world or not. While some content of history is not worth learning, I feel that history really makes / helps people understand the present world.

Some areas of history could be considered as pointless to learn. Firstly, history consists of dates and years of the events that occurred in the yester centuries; however, these numbers are neither intriguing nor useful in daily life. And yet, students waste a great deal of time trying to memorize the years and dates.

Nevertheless, learning about the past is helpful in several ways. First and foremost, people can better understand the present situation of the world by researching the related history. In India, for example, employment and education sector has reservation system, in which a certain number of seats in educational institutions are reserved for backward classes. Likewise, a certain percentage of jobs in the public sector are also reserved for these those belonging to the backward category. It is easy to justify this practice when people learn about the hardships people belonging to backward classes had to endure in the past. Also, history teaches us about the evolution of various cultures and dynasties. Learning about them instils national pride in people and make them feel good about their heritage.

In conclusion, even though there are specific portions of history, which are useless to learn, I believe that history is an important subject that helps us make better sense of the world around us.