Some believe that history has little to teach us about today while others think that the study of the past helps us to understand the present. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by many that there is nothing much to learn from the bygone era. However, other opine that history is a mine of information, which enlightens the present for us. In my opinion, our past defines what we are today, hence same goes for history, as it plays a vital role in our present life.

To begin with, individuals who think that learning history would not benefit us in anyway argue that referring past moments is often not accurate for any purpose. Although archaeologists and researchers perform intensive study on many historical fields and objects, still there are often high possibilities that they are not reliable, as all the facts and researches are just based on their own theories. For instance, there have been many uncertainties found in the reason how dinosaur extincted, and what was the reason for their extinction.

On the flip-side, there have been many researches and excavations conducted by scientists to understand various aspects of our life from the historical incidents, and undoubtedly, they have discovered astronomical amount of facts from the different locations, which proves how human's life went through several phases and become what we are today. For instance, Darwin's theory of human appearance transformation is a perfect example for this. Further, through the certain historical events, which impacted humanity negatively, we learn not to repeat such actions ever in the future by looking its past consequences. To cite an example, the world war I & II, are fought due to the negligence of few leaders, which have adversely impact many nations.

To conclude, although learning from history is completely depend on its accurate theories and exploration, in my opinion, there have been many past occurrences and events, which can be referred to know and ameliorate our present.