Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skills. What are the causes? Suggest possible solutions.

Cooperation is an important base for the success of any corporate company. Lack of it can hamper the growth of the business. There is a tendency to combat it with the best possible solution; hence, I am of the opinion that with the effective measures, this situation can be improved.

There are a number of causative factors for the lack of interpersonal skills. One of them is that people do not respect others. This is because they feel they are superior compared to others, as they are new to the system. It is important to note that such people are mostly focused on their own personal growth as they are new, due to which they hesitate to involve others for any decision-making. My office friend, for instance, who has newly joined, was assigned a marketing project which he failed to complete on time. He thought discussing about it with others may lead to sharing the incentives, so he deprived himself from gaining the advice by coordinating with other experts in the office.

There are many steps with which we can deal with this problem effectively. Firstly, businesses must consider arranging an welcome training on regular basis to help the new employees understand the importance of these skills, and they must be given some background about the different success-stories in the organisation. Besides, Human Resource department must make sure to inculcate the values of respect, sharing and caring through regular meetings. Mangers in the systems must motivate everyone to think about the growth of the company and not thinking about an individual’s growth. Last but not the least, companies can aspire to arrange events where employees can take part to prove work from their areas. Such events enforce team building, and it will bring people together for a common goal. In my company, for example, a corporate event is organised every year which enables different departments to showcase their areas of expertise though different project work. Due to this everyone in the team ensures to help others and seek advice in all the walks of work. This has also helped many employees to get rid of their superiority complex, as they get to experience the potentials in the others.

To conclude, from the above discussions, I see a great improvement in such a situation on developing interpersonal skills provided the aforementioned measures are taken.