Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skills. What are the causes? Suggest possible solutions.

Cooperation is an important base for the success of any corporate company. Lack of it can hamper the growth of the business. There is a tendency to combat it with the best possible solution; hence, I am of the opinion that with the effective measures, this situation can be improved.

There are a number of causative factors for the lack of interpersonal skills. One of them is that people do not respect each other. This is because they feel they are superior compared to others. It is important to note that such individuals are mostly focused on their own personal growth due to which they hesitate to involve others in any decision-making. My office friend, for instance, was once assigned a marketing project which he failed to complete on time, as he thought discussing about it with others may lead to sharing the incentives. He deprived himself from gaining the expertise by coordinating with other experts in the office.

There are many steps with which we can deal with this problem effectively.Firstly, businesses must consider arranging an interpersonal training from time to time to help their employees realise the importance of different skills that play a vital role in their profession. Besides it can be argued but Human Resource department must ensure to inculcate the values of respect, sharing and caring through regular meetings. Last but not the least, seniors in the systems must motivate everyone to think about the growth of the company rather than thinking about an individuals growth. Some companies also arrange events where different group of people participate to demonstrate work from their areas. Such events enforce team building, team bonding and it also bring people together for a common goal. In my company, for example, a corporate event is organised every year which enables different departments to showcase their areas of expertise though different project work. Due to this everyone in the team ensure to help each other and seek others advice in all the walks of work. This has also helped many employees to get rid of their superiority complex, as they get to experience the potentials in others.

To conclude, from the above discussions, I see a great improvement in such a situation on developing interpersonals skills provided the aforementioned measures are taken.