In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

In many urban areas throughout the world, horrendous traffic has become a serious issue. The main reason of the issue is an enormous number of vehicle on the roads, which is increasing day by day. One the ways to tackle the risen traffic is introduction higher vehicle taxes and impose restrictions for non-residential transport.

To begin with, the factors that significantly contribute into a considerable quantity of cars onto the roads is a greater affordability of private transport for the public as well as a concept of consumerism when almost every person wishes to possess a bunch of material things including its own vehicles. Thus, numerous number of people, nowadays, would prefer to drive a car rather than use the public transport. For instance, I used to get to my office by bus and found it rather convenient; However, I have changed my mind lately and start grabbing a taxi instead.

The key to solving of the issue of nasty traffic jams is ban of non-local transport, as well as dramatic shift in the work of the public transport. For example, implementation of a strict timetable for every vehicle on the route and increasing of a car fleet. In addition, authorities might increase taxes for usage of private cars and then allocate received funds for renovation of the transport infrastructure, such as construction of new multi-level conjunctions. These measures will encourage citizens to switch to the public transport, on condition it will be convenient and pursue the schedule. Consequently, the situation on the roads should be improved.

In conclusion, taking into account the amount of vehicle on the roads causes the traffic jams, the first measure for dealing with it is decreasing its number by implementing of different measures.