Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion

Many corporations have restricted their employees to wear a uniform during working hours. While uniforms may hinder the uniqueness of an individual, I believe that these are imperative for the safety of workers.

The primary advantage of uniform is to protect staff from a hazardous situation. This is to say because many industries have installed heavy machinery for manufacturing of their products, and wearing loose clothing or jewellery may jeopardize their lives by getting stuck in these machines. For example, in Russia, it was reported in 2018, in Daily Times that two factory workers lost their lives due to an outfit they were wearing during batch manufacturing and cloth stuff catch fire and burnt them to death. I believe that making uniform an obligation for employees begets benefit in terms of personal safety.

Every individual has a desire to look different than others and it is a part of human nature. While making uniform a compulsion may restrict an individual’s identity, because every person has their own way of carrying cloths which makes them unique among others. Therefore, most staff do not like to wear the uniform provided by the company as it results in affecting their appearance. For example, a survey report published in a newspaper about making uniform compulsory and 75% of workers denied wearing a uniform. However, I believe that at workplace focus should be on human safety instead of giving importance to the individual's appearance.

To conclude, employees of many departments are now obliged to have the same attire at the workplace, although having the same costume reduces specialty of an individual, this act would save staff members from getting into trouble.