In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, health problems are increasing due to excessive consumption of junk food; therefore, many are ending up their life with perilous health issues like obesity, liver related challenges and many others. However, many argue that government should charge higher tax rates on junk food products; so, that there will be a decrease in purchase of these food items. In my opinion, this is not a solution to this problem.

Further, to the increase in the tax rates will make fast foods un-affordable only to the poor and middle-class people. This will force them to cook their food at the home instead of bearing those heavier taxes. This results in consuming healthy food thereby, improves appetite. But, the raise in tax will not discourage affluent consumers from buying fast food; moreover, many are reluctant to cook food by their own because of busy work schedule and even more they got habituated to eat junk. With the increase in online food services at affordable price, most of the people in cities show interest towards the food offers and relay on these.

On the other hand, instead of increasing the tax rates government should bring awareness among society about ill-effects of junk and packed food on everyone’s health. Perhaps, it is better to make healthy food more affordable and accessible. The main reason for increasing consumption of fast food is that, it can be cooked in few minutes and looks delicious. Although, many know that it is hazardous to health, they opt for it because healthier alternatives are not conveniently available.

In conclusion, increasing the tax on fast foods will only deter the low-income groups from buying them where others will be at risk. If the government really wants to cut the consumption of fast food and save the sufferers, it should offer the healthier food at affordable price and bring awareness among the crowd. As we all know that ‘Health is wealth’; so, reduce intake of junk for maximal happiness.