In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Nowadays, gap year seems to be a trend to this generation. most of students decide to travel abroad for a long time when they graduated the collage. Every coin has two sides, gap year also has both positive and negative effects.

On the one hand, the gap year can be a expensive experience in their childhood. firstly, these young people will meet various of strangers in this tour. However, some of them may meet their best friend ever. For instance, I have met my best friend Eric when I was in my working holiday trip in Australia. secondly, the gap year can open their horizon. it is said that you can learn more by travelling a thousand miles than by reading a thousand books. There are too many knowledges which textbooks and teachers could not tell you. For instance, the traditional culture of different countries.

On the other hand, gap year also has some disadvantages. firstly, it’s very dangerous. most of young students didn’t have enough experiences of driving. Therefore, when they meet the traffic accident in other country, it’s hard to handle that by themselves. Moreover, their parents will extremely worried about them. secondly, they will spend a huge number of money on this trip. On account of prices in some developed countries is very high. it will be a burden to their families. Unless they can find a job in that country.

In conclusion, the gap year is a double-edged sword to young people. If one has decided to go abroad for working holiday, he should better to discuss with his parents first.