Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Presently, the importance of learning a foreign language to survive in a globalized world has risen into prominence in many parts of the world. That is why, there has been a growing body of opinion favoring primary school students to learn an exotic language instead of at secondary institutions, while I am in consummate discord with it. Despite the many advantages that derive from this arrangment, I firmly opine that it is predominantly disadvantageous to the primary school students as it would act as a deterrent to their holistic development.

For one, although learning a foreign language at primary school is a way to compete at the global level by having a deep understanding of other linguistic structures at a young age, most students are likely to struggle to develop up to the potential. It is evident that at a young age, children need enough time and energy to learn not only their own mother tongue but also to adapt to society's morals, customs, and values. Further, a primitive instance of this is exemplified by young pupils who already find it difficult to know everything about arithmetic and extremely confusing concepts of history and science. If they are made to learn a brand new language, they might not develop their cognitive abilities appropriately. Therefore, this is an implausible recommendation.

In addition, primary school teenagers feel the intense pressure of adapting to a new language. This forceful learning can be a negative experience for them, deterring them to learn a foreign language even in the future. A statistic was recently released demonstrating that the forceful learning environment at teenagers has caused many students to hate learning new things in adulthood, causing them to be unsuccessful at times. Moreover, when students at secondary school learn these languages of foreign countries, they develop camaraderie with a learning atmosphere and tend to show eagerness to learn more about it. Hence, this discussion clearly shows that it is an optimal way to let secondary students focus on learning a foreign language rather than primary school students.

Following the look, in spite of the pros of giving more capabilities to be competitive in a stiff globalized environment, addition of foreign language learning in the primary curriculum has many more drawbacks than favorable points. I thus hope that human intelligence and ingenuity continue to work work to lessen the burdens of young children of primary schools in the foreseeable future.