Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that learning a foreign language has become commonplace in many primary and secondary schools in recent years. I understand that learning a second language for primary pupils can be controversial. I believe that there are more benefits than drawbacks.

On the one hand, learning a foreign language can be a great sense of accomplishment for children and it is like learning to crack a code. When it comes to pupils’ self-esteem and self-consciousness, foreign language learners nurture these interpersonal skills. Also, children who learn a second language perform efficiently on creativity and critical thinking skills, as well as they, become masters in their verbal and math tests. At the same time, I believe that language learning will be more than just learning how to speak and write in a different language. As the world becomes more global business and public organization will need more people who can communicate in other languages.

However, there is an argument that an early age of learning a second language can bring about confusion for children. As a matter of fact, when children learn a new language, the reasoning tends to stem from a parent’s desire. Thus, the extra cognitive strain on children might be created by the acquisition of a new language. Other than that, it is important to be more aware of distraction in mother language development that sometimes happens at an early age learning. Finally, due to the intimate link between culture and language, children definitely will get a taste of a foreign culture that results in cultural confusion in some cases.

In conclusion, I would argue that the benefits of learning a new language at an early age do outweigh the drawbacks.