Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Speaking at least one foreign language is a necessary skill in 21st Century , because of globalization . It is believed by some education experts that kids should start learning a foreign language at primary school instead of beginning at secondary school which almost education systems do today . While there are several advantages to do so , I think the negative effects outweight the positive side .

There are few positive influences for forcing children to start learning foreign language at primary school, but most of them are not directly beneficial to students themselves. . Firstly , it will definitely increase more job opportunities when new course like English or Spanish added in curriculum . Language teachers will be a hot job in several years because there are a huge requirement . At the same time, if kids can speak some simple words from another language , the parents will be satisfied because they think their children are genius and get a well-education which will promise them a bright future .

But there are some bad effects on children when learning foreign language too earlier . At primary school , children usually around 6 to 12 years old which a golden time to learn their native language. If they were force to learn another new language , it would be easily to cause confusion for their knowledge which will deficit the learning efficient . Further more , learning a new language is not easy which means it will bring heavy burden on kids’ shoulders who are supposed to enjoy their childhood with more outdoor activities such as sports ,

In conclusion, according to adults’ opinion , learning foreign language earlier are good for children’s future, But actually , it violates the rules of learning nature which children should learn specific knowledge at suitable ages .