Some experts believe that it better for children to begin learning foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is thought by some experts that it is beneficial for children to start learning foreign language at early age instead to postpone it to secondary school. In my opinion, I consider that the beginning of learning foreign language at primary school can bring about more advantages compared to any problem it might bring.

Despite the drawbacks below, I believe the benefits gained by children learning foreign language at early age are extremely useful for their future life. Firstly, start to learn language at primary school can build children’s knowledge in foreign vocabulary and pronunciation. These are essential skills for their future education at school or university. Another positive aspect is that at primary school children can have opportunities to discover about foreign culture and traditions through learning language. In addition, they can be able to read books or watch films in foreign language yet at early age.

Admittedly, there are some issues involved when children begin to learn foreign language too early. One problem is that it might be stressful for young brain to adopt a lot of new information especially foreign language. For example, there are some special school in developing countries where children force spend a lot of time at primary school because of having a big amount of subjects that all in foreign language. However, this situation is rare, only happening in certain countries. Another negative aspect is that the time children spend by learning addition subjects at primary school such as lessons of foreign language could prevent them from having fun and playing with friends. Having free time with other children is the key to success future communication skills this can be a problem.

In conclusion, the critical knowledge that children can learn when they start learning foreign language at primary school will stand them in a good stead when they are older and clearly outweigh any disadvantages.