Some Governments say how many children a family can have in their country should be strictly controlled. They may control the number of children someone has through taxes. Is It sometimes necessary and right for a government to control the population in this way?

Do you agree or disagree with this policy?

Some governments believe that the population growth should be strictly controlled. They might control childbirth by restricting the number of children an individual family can bear through the implementation of levy. In my opinion, I strongly agree that it is the correct decision to be taken by authorities as it contributes towards a healthier and progressive society.

Firstly, restricting childbirth to control population will help authorities to minimize the mortality rate and provide better health facilities to its citizens especially to the mothers as they might go through several during the pregnancy and labor. Consequently, this will help mothers to provide proper care and attention to their families which will eventually lead to a healthier society. At present, Chinese authorities have banned its citizens from having more than two children, therefore, the mortality rates in China is considerably low because of the implementation of this policy.

Another point to consider is that the enforcement of taxes on childbirth will help countries to generate revenue which can be invested to maintain a standard of health care facilties as well as in provisioning of funds for research in the field of medicine. As a result, countries will be able to develop vaccines and medicines for fatal diseases which might be exported around the globe, helping the humanity as a whole. The Srilankan government has generated a large proportion of revenue by putting up birth control regulations utilizing it in health sector, hence, it is a well-established fact that their health system is now considered one of the best in the world.

In conclusion, limiting the birth of children by authorities via the implementation of taxes in will serve as a benchmark not only for the economic but also for the well-being of the society.