Some parents think that childcare centres provide the best services for children of pre-school age. Other working parents think that family members such as grandparents will be better carers for their kids.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some parents would argue that the best services for children of pre-school age is at childcare centres, others would argue that their children is better taken care by their grandparents. Although family members love their kids more and can teach them their own languages, I believe children should be sent to childcare centres to learn how to live independently.

On one hand, grandparents will be better carers for their children because they love their kids more than anyone else and they can also teach their grandchildren how to speak their own languages. That is to say that children, who are born in a foreign country, can have a chance to know more than one language if they are taken care by their grandparents or any family members. For example, in 2018, a survey conducted by a Vietnamese newspaper in Toronto showed that 80% of Vietnamese children, who was stayed at home with their grandparents at their pre-school age, can speak both English and Vietnamese fluently. However, I believe that this is not a long-term affect because they tend to forget their own language when they grow up.

On the other hand, childcare centres can help children grow up independently. At those centres, one teacher usually has to take care at least three children; hence, they do not have enough time to take care any kid specially. Children have to learn how to deal with their basic needs such as taking shower, having lunch or going to sleep. For instance, a survey of Childcare department of Toronto University in 2017 showed that more than 90% of children, who was sent to pre-school centres, could go to kindergarten at age 4 without any difficulty, while only 50% of children, who stayed at home with their families, can do that. Therefore, I believe childcare centres is the best place for children of pre-school age because they can learn basic skills before they start their schools.

In conclusion, while some parents would let their children stay at home with family members because they would have the best care and learn another language, I believe parents should send their children to childcare centres to learn how to grow up independently before they start their schools.