Some people agree that children should ask for the parent's advice. Some disagree.

Discuss both views and share your own opinion.

It is often argued that children should always take suggestions from their parents. In my opinion, although at times it is acceptable to allow free space for the children to do certain kinds of tasks, there should have a comfort zone between children and parents so that advice can be sought always.

Children should be given freedom at times. When children exercise something on their own, it improves their skills such as creativity, analytical ability etc. For example, recent research shows that students who take frequent decisions independently have a better ability to lead a group or movement later. Therefore, it is important to give your child freed to decide on something at times to able to handle future hardships.

However, children should obviously take advice from their parents for all important decisions. While liberty is useful for them, it should be within the periphery of parents monitoring and control. Needless to say that, preschool children are anyway dependant on their parents. For school-going children or above, they must always ask their parents before making any big decisions. Otherwise, it not only can drive them towards the wrong path, it may pose threats to their safety and security also. A prime example is, children who choose their close friends unbeknown to their parents or go to a place regularly without informing their parents, often fall in the trap of drug addiction or even serious crimes. Therefore it is imperative for parents to create a comfort zone with their children so that they can share anything and ask for any decision whenever needed.

In conclusion, I believe, parents should grossly observe what their children are doing. While it is important to give children their space, parents should also create and maintain a friendly relation with their children so that they can ask for any help or advice, whenever required.