Some people agree that children should ask for the parent's advice. Some disagree.

Discuss both views and share your own opinion.

Upbringing children in this modern world is becoming critical. Parents encourage their offsprings to seek for their opinion before making any decision, but then again, some think that it negatively affects their mental development. In my opinion, there shall be a balance in between parents’ influence over children’s decisions and children’s own opinions.

Guardians are matured individuals who have better understanding over situations, so it is safe for the kids if they take advices from their protectors. Decision making capability is developed over time, so it is hard for a under-aged person to make a right decision. Taking advices from the father helps the boy do the right thing, not to mention that the mother gets ensured that no harm will occur. In USA (2013), firefighters reported 789 incidents where the parents were away and the children engaged themselves in jeopardizing activities. The practice of taking advices from rearers ensures the safety, which shall be started with the toddlers.

However, frequent advising to the teenagers has to blame for hampering the mental development. A study in Japan revealed that the students, depending on seniors to make decisions, loses the capability to make any decision, making him dependent on others. Such action leaves that person with no choice but to get influenced by others in later life. If the kinds are not given the scope to think independently, they cannot be blamed for not becoming independent thinkers.

In my opinion, the parents shall ensure that their precious possessions stay away from self-harming decisions, but also provides the chance to practice decision-making. In this way, they can grow-up smoothly without compromising safety.

To conclude, parents remain concerned about the offsprings to keep them safe. But overprotective parents are the reason for the devastating life of the children, as the young adults get out-smart easily by others. So the guardians have to ensure both the safety and autonomy of the children.