Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Higher education has become a quintessential part of any individual’s life. While some argue it is only necessary for getting a better job prospect, others consider that advantages of university education for individual and society at a far greater level. In my opinion, higher education benefits are not restricted to just financial rewards for an individual.

In today’s competitive world, everyone wants to secure a better job for themselves and tertiary education usually ensures wider employment opportunities for graduates. Even though one can find a job right after school, it is immensely difficult to get a promotion with increasing experience because of lacking educational qualifications. Whereas, a well-educated person has plenty of opportunities for work and earning higher salaries. Moreover, university education in disciplines such as medicine, education, and law leads to a career that opens doors to various prospects around the globe. For instance, irrespective of nationalities and ethnicity a doctor can treat patients anywhere in the world. Similarly, a teacher can teach wherever their job takes them and it is possible because of their college degree.

However, there are other positive aspects of higher education for an individual as well as society. From an individual’s perspective, a college education makes them extremely confident as students usually have to leave the comforts of their home behind and survive in a new place. Also, college students become more acceptable towards people from different cultures and backgrounds because these people become their support system away from home. For society, a highly educated person can make a well-informed decision for the holistic growth of the community whenever necessary. For example, while choosing an administrator during an election, individual decision matters which ensure the socio-economic growth of a nation and only a well- educated person can take an all-inclusive decision.

To conclude, while a university degree furnishes wider job prospects, its advantages are far greater which could help grow an individual with its society.