Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime.others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime,and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A section of society feel that criminals ought to give the same type of penalties for their offence whereas, others advocate that it is essential to consider the situation of each misdeed and the motive behind committing should also be judged while punishing them. I will discuss both the sides of the essay with my own opinion.

On the one hand, offering the set penalty to offender despite a small crime like pickpocket or murder will create the threat among everyone who even thinks to commit a violation. This will impede their intention before taking any harsh step into the criminal world. For example, according to The New York Police Department, on average 70% of crime has alleviated in the year 1998 since they give same punishment for any crime made due to which small criminals have a fear among them. Additionally, they will think twice is it worth taking a risk since the consequence is of long term.

On the other hand, in my opinion, the purpose of the crime is vital before making any decision on offering any correction service such as, if the crime has taken place while self-defending. In this phenomenon, the intentions are not purposefully unlike in other cases, in such a scenario a mediocre will be penalized for no reason. Moreover, the notion for giving the same punishment will also create chaos and criminal would not mind enacting tremendously offensive misconduct. For instance, it will unfair if the intensity for the crime is not judged, such kind of act can generate more criminal and proliferating the crime. Thus, it is necessary to understand the fundaments of the offence.

In conclusion, in my view towards a fixed punishment is that it is an injustice for others. However, it is important to know the motive behind such steps before penalty since crime can take place accidentally.