Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is a fact that we do not recycle all the domestic waste and some would suggest that the only way to achieve maximum recycling of household waste is by framing legal regulations and enforcing them. I would not agree with this notion and believe that there are other ways to encourage people to recycle and to reuse more.

In my view, a new recycling law would be just one of the possible ways to tackle the waste problem. Governments could make it a legal obligation for householders to separate all their waste into different bins. There could be punishments ranging from small fine to community service, and even perhaps, imprisonment for repeat offenders. These measures would act as a deterrent and encourage citizens to obey the law and take necessary steps to recycle more of their rubbish. As a result of improved behavior of home owners, the surroundings will be hygienic and waste-free.

However, government should take certain measures to educate their public rather than merely passing a law. It might be more effective if governments could organize public workshops or recycling campaigns. People will be more interested to participate in such campaigns as they would be curious to understand the benefits of recycling. In addition to that, educational institutions could also contribute by teaching their students the positive effects of waste recycling. Apart from this, authorities may also reward public, who are contributing for this initiative religiously.

To summarize, passing a law to promote recycling may help to some extent, whereas, educating people will result in more effective results.