Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to living in an apartment. Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment?

Over the last few decades, apartments have become popular among the urban community. Many people claim that apartments are ideal as accommodation than houses. This essay discusses the benefits and drawbacks of living in a house.

To begin with, when a person has the ownership of a land, it provides them with freedom to build the house according to the way he desires. He also has an authority to make renovations and alterations whenever he finds necessary. A recent study by Evans University has found that 55% of the landlords consider being able to conduct renovations to be crucial.

On the other hand, maintaining a house is not as cheap as it seems. You are going to go through a tough legal process to get the plans approved and building a brand new house costs a fortune, considering the maintenance costs and labour costs which are on the rise constantly. You need to install water, electricity, gas lines and make any repairs when they occur unexpectedly. You need to maintain it's look by painting the walls, changing it's carpets more often than you think. Central bank annual report on the cost of living reveals that home owners spend an average of $400 annually for maintaining their houses. This confirms that it is expensive to own a house.

In conclusion, even though there are drawbacks to live in a house, such as the expenses which have to be dealt with, in my opinion, the advantages of living in a house still outweighs it's disadvantages.