Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that, in the due course of education, a lot is focused only on learning facts and figures, however, there is very little concentration on the practical skills. In my opinion, this is the truth of our education system and I completely agree that, our system lacks hands on practice of vital and practical skills.

Firstly, many professions demand only technical knowhow, rather than theory, like chef, painters, makeup artists and so on. Any educational institute does not provide hands on practice in these fields, which is of utmost importance. Moreover, numerous schools and universities aim at teaching facts, that are mentioned in the books and are many a times irrelevant for various professions. One can easily educate oneself, by reading and going through these books. We do not require educational centers for the same. To illustrate, a student who desires to be an artist in the future, does not need to spend his quality time in learning about the past(history). One needs to take up art or some similar classes, in order to be successful in one’s career. Therefore, a lot of precious time is wasted in learning irrelevant matter.

Secondly, it is considered that, even after achieving an educational degree, one needs to go through vigorous practical trainings, as students have never faced real life experiences. They have no idea, of how challenging it can be, to work with deadlines or to work under pressure. This can be the real evaluation of their knowledge. Unfortunately, most of them cannot perform in these evaluations and fail terribly, because of zero practical knowledge. For instance, when doctors put in 25 years of their life into education, they are still not allowed to perform an operation on a patient, until they have taken extra practical trainings, for minimum 2 years under other senior doctors. Consequently, those 25 years are of very little value without practical skills.

In conclusion, I concur that practical knowledge is a must, on all levels of education, as learning only facts will not be beneficial in today’s competitive world. I also believe that, our education system will soon change, for the betterment of the students.