Some people say History is one of the most important subjects. Other people say that, in today's world, subject like science and technology are more important than History.
discuss both view and give your opinion.
In the world today, some individuals argue that history is of paramount importance; while others
tend to have a strong preference for subjects such as Science and Technology. Although I agree
that Science and Technology are fundamental, I believe that History plays an equally vital role.
On the one hand, those who argue that Science and Technology are important base their opinions
on the following arguments. Firstly, nowadays, there is a growing trend towards technological
advancements. Our daily routine seems to be nothing without the support of a variety of
technological and scientific breakthroughs that satisfy our basic needs as well as recreational
activities. Smartphones are great testaments to this explanation as it is infeasible for people,
especially teenagers to stop staring at their phones for a day. Secondly, in some developed
nations, education recently gravitates towards incentivizing workforce in science-related field.
Consequently, this drives a tendency to focus on those subjects in students from other developing
countries who desire to get access to an advanced educational environment from abroad.
By contrast, History should be regarded as one of the most crucial school subjects. Firstly, every
person needs to gain a wealth of knowledge about where they come from. It will be ridiculous if
you are a successful scientist but having not a single definition about your national historic
events. Secondly, learning history can positively improve our characteristics. History lessons
make avenues to plethora of moral lessons in gratefulness, patriotism and appreciation for what
we have obtained. For instance, having lectures about Vietnamese wartime catalyzed my
gratitude for my national historic figures such as President Ho Chi Minh and other heroes, who
have done wonders for Vietnamese’ safety and peace.
Overall, I am convinced that History and Science and Technology should be considered of
balanced importance as all those subjects act as precursor to fully develop every student.