Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a persons culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

A majority of people, gauge others based on their outer appearance and selection of clothing. I strongly disagree with this biased way of sizing an individual on the mere assumption of their personality and personal choices. In this essay, I would like to discuss the ambiguity involved in doing so.

Humans are social animals that have categorized society into different sections. People base their perceptions on their past experiences. A person who is traditionally dressed is often assumed to be a very pious person who is homely and introverted. This may not be true in every case. However, there are a number of people whose profession demands a certain dress code and have to abide by it. For examples, National Airlines have a specific uniform for their cabin crew, irrespective of their cultural background.

Some people choose comfort clothing or enjoy experimenting with the prevalent fads and fashions. A woman's choice of a western outfit which may be skimpy or body-hugging is often judged as extroverted or attention-seeking. These individuals are classified as uncultured or accused of possessing a weak value system. For instance, some perceive young men with colored highlights in their hair and tattoos to be less successful in their career.

In conclusion, people are able to make a roughly accurate judgment of other members of society, based on their temporary superficial conditions. Having said that, I do believe that it is not always possible to acquire a lot of information about others unless we make an effort to know them personally. Furthermore, we cannot confirm ones' true nature based on specific circumstances and limited experiences. This could lead to misunderstandings and misconceptions.