Are famous people treated unfairly by the media? Should they be given more privacy, or is the price of their fame an invasion into their private life?

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Global demands for entertainment have exponentially shot up in the past few decades. A large part of the population believe that a celebrated personality enjoys far more privileges than an ordinary person and hence intrusion of their private lives is inevitably a small value in exchange of the popularity they have achieved. Having said that, some people believe in an equal right to privacy. I strongly opine that media should be restricted by privacy intrusion laws to protect celebrities from defaming and suffering personal issues publicly. In this essay, I shall discuss the merit and the demerits of paparazzi.

On one hand, media is extensively known for influencing the careers of celebrated personalities. Celebrated status is recognition to those who have remarkably achieved in their field of expertise. Famous people are usually considered to live a privileged and luxurious life. With a constant spotlight on certain famous beings, they are continuously under the scrutiny of the general public. For instance, a well-renouned cricketer is highly appreciated for is performance, although a single event of underperforming at a game can create extenuating circumstances for this same player. This creates unnecessary pressure and psychological disturbance at a personal level. A negatively overwhelming criticism from a large audience can be demotivational.

On the other hand, public figures suffer from curiosity and interference of personal decision-making process. The masses are highly opinionated on professional choices of a famous personality. For example, an actress was recently ridiculed for her professional choice of a specific role in a film. Even actors who choose to get married or divorced are perceived in a different way in the eyes of their followers.

Popularity often takes a toll on people's immediate family. Famous persons are unable to relish the simple joys of life, such as a walk on the beach or enjoying a local delicacy with their family. A well-known personality’s child is often mobbed my media disrupting their school schedule and creating difficulties for them to adjust to their fellow mates. A distinctive treatment leads ‘child-celebrities’ to feel superior to their peers. Media is capable of exposing a sensitive personal issue as a piece of entertainment to the masses, to hike the readership or just to popularize their shows.

In my view, media should abide by rules safeguarding the private life of popular personalities. Celebrities thriving on attention seeking behavioral patterns should not be promoted at all. Furthermore, media must learn to be sensitive towards the families of these popular people who often are dragged into the limelight without their consent. The revelation of personal contact details or relevant personal information can pose a threat to their life. Therefore, it is crucial to restrict boundaries to the intrusion of personal space as a preventive step towards maligning the reputation of famous persons.