Some people say that now we can see films on our phones or tablets, and there is no need to go to the cinema. Others say that to be fully enjoyed, films need to be seen in a cinema

There is an ongoing debate of a film viewing since the turn of the century. Some argue that it is best experienced in a cinema hall whilst other support discard the necessity of it, I support the former. This essay will compare theatrical experience and also small screen watching along with relevant examples.

On the one hand, there is ample evidence that watching film at one’s own comfort is a preferred choice to many. The central reason for this is two fold, primarily, it can be paused and played at convenience. Not all can have the luxury to spare few hours to catch a movie at theatre. Secondly, its economical. Increase in the prices of tickets is forcing some population to confine themselves to home entertainment. To illustrate this, a recent survey from Oxford University states that for the cost of one theatre outing, an individual could get a subscription for 6 months for more than 5000 movies. Therefore it is conclusively clear that there not only is it convenient, but also cost effective.

On the other hand, although there is a case for tablets and phones being inexpensive source of watching, the experience that theatre provides cannot be understated. There are some films which are specifically shot suitable to technical attributes that are stand alone for movie halls. In addition to this, the sound system and the clarity of video is incomparable and is the defining factor. For example, film enthusiasts would pay any amount to watch certain movies such as interstellar and Avengers infinity war , which are loaded with high end visuals and graphics. Thus it is possible to state that theatres are still a undeniable choice to many.

In conclusion, despite both having their advantages and disadvantages, in my opinion, watching show reel on large screen is the best way to enjoy the film and cannot be substituted albeit even when available at a lesser price.