Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one Give reasons for your answer & include any examples from your own knowledge or experience

The trend of imposing ban on cellphones in school premises is slowly catching up. I believe that it is a positive step towards effective education. This essay will discuss how it increases participation of students simultaneously reducing the chances of cheating and cyber bullying along with relevant examples to support my points.

To begin with, pupils tend to be more attentive in class when they do not have any electronic gadgets along. This will improve the quality of learning and thus have a positive impact on the results. In addition to this, there could be a rise in student participation in various curricular and extra curricular activities as the scope of distraction has been greatly reduced. To illustrate this, an Oxford University research states that the registration for school sports teams have increased by 100% during a semester when mobiles were disallowed. Therefore it is conclusively clear than restricting electronic devices such as portable phones in educational institutions act as catalyst in development of young minds.

Secondly, it removes the chances of cheating in examinations and also negates cyberbullying of school goers. There is often a scenario where smart students tend to look up the answers for test questions in search engines such as google or online encyclopedia using a web browser in their smartphones resulting in unfair grades. Furthermore, it also negates the risk of tough boys and girls teasing juniors and exposing them on internet. For instance, a high school student from the Florida state school has recorded a video of a senior girl in shower and posted online effecting girls mental health. Thus is it possible to state that it aids in having a fair assessment of test taker’s intelligence and also reduce modern day bullying.

In conclusion, despite its advantages in my opinion prohibiting cell phones into educational campus will cause less distractions allowing pupils to experience the school life like old days and also reduces unlawful.