Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that more than two billion people had studied, have learned or will be acquiring a second language. Some claim that there are only two motives to do it: for work or for traveling. At the same time, many aver that there are more reasons to wish to know a foreign tongue. Below both prospects will be discussed and author’s opinion will be started.

On the one hand, there are those who buy on-line courses, enroll in language programs or study language on their own in order to use it overseas during tourist or work trips. In fact, knowing, for instance, French provides a speaker with indispensable opportunity to communicate with others who inhabit French speaking states. Needless to say that anyone who is going to work abroad has to be able to converse on a local tongue. In other words, those who travel and work in a foreign state have a serious reason to know how to talk to the locals.

On the other hand, there are many alternative incentives as well. For instance, a person who is fascinated by Japan may decide to study Japanese that embodies the culture, traditions and even mindset of the country. Moreover, scientists have decisively proved that acquiring another language has beneficial effect on memory and even overall brain physiology. For example, some therapists recommend those patients who are in their sixties and seventies to study the second language in order to prevent development of deviations that are associated with aging. Consequently, it is safe to say that human beings may wish to speak alien tongue for a myriad of motives.

Finally, in my opinion, although a large quantity of humans are guided by a desire to converse with foreigners on their tongue during vocations or work trips, some pursue other reasons such as to understand novel culture or to preserve their minds. Thus, the first prospect does not reflect the reality, while the former represents it.