Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both view and give your own opinion

For every parent, their child’s upbringing is of prime concern and they devote a lot of time and thought into how the child should be passing their time. While some prefer children participating in group activities, the others want them to keep themselves busy on their own. Although, in my opinion none of these schools of thought are incorrect, it is paramount to strike a proper balance between the two. In this essay we shall discuss the positives and negatives of both these views.

Encouraging youngsters to take part in organised group activities is a great way to make them ready to face the real world as adults. Activities like these, not only help them learn how to interact with people and acquire qualities of leadership and team building but also make them compassionate towards the fellow mates, thus, understanding the meaning of caring and sharing. All of these are essential traits to live in the social environment.

We all have read as students that man is a social animal but probably, what we have not been told much is that it is equally important for people to learn how to live with themselves. Acquiring this art at a tender age would help them face the difficult times in their lives in a better way, especially, when there’s no one for them to rely on. In addition, isolation can sometimes bring peace to the inner self. Therefore, some parents emphasise on making their children inculcate the habit of keeping themselves occupied on their own. But his needs to be done with utmost caution because prolonged seclusion may rather result in signs of depression.

In the conclusion, for the overall development of a child it is crucial to incorporate both team as well as lone activities but in moderation. Over doing any of these may prove detrimental to the child’s psychology.