Some people say that TV advertisements are helpful for viewers, while others disagree. Discuss both viewpoints and give your opinion?

Opinions are divided on whether television commercials are useful for viewers. I believe that it is advantageous for watchers.

The idea that advertising is not beneficial for viewers is advocated by people due to the fact that it encourages unnecessary spending, and promotes junk food. With regard to the former, the belief is that it creates artificial wants. By doing so, the ultimate goal of advertising companies to subtly persuade the customers to buy things that are not required at the moment is achieved. It is also thought that most TV commercials advertise junk food with high levels of fat and sugar. This unhealthy food is not only harmful to our health but young children are also targetted by the food companies to pester their parents to buy the advertised food items that have adverse health effects, such as obesity.

However, the above arguments can be rejected because advertisements create general awareness. As far as the promotion of junk food is concerned, people would not be able to make informed choices without watching adverts. By watching adverts of these types, they now have the knowledge to distinguish between healthy and unhealthy food, which would not be possible otherwise. As for the idea that it encourages unnecessary spending, it is not always true. Evidence for this can be seen in the fact that catalogues and brochures advertised on TV, enable people to compare products and services at leisure. In fact, those who do not have time to shop around can rely on advertising to learn about new products and then choose smartly on their need basis.

In conclusion, I agree with this proposition that advertising is an effective tool for viewers because it makes them aware of new commodities, and enables them to make informed decisions.