Some people say that young people are much more influenced by their friends than their teachers or friends. Do you agree or disagree?

It is generally believed that friends and peers have more impact on youngsters than their guardians. From my perspective, children indeed get swayed by their fellows rather than their parents or teachers. In this essay, I shall discuss its causes, to strengthen my opinion.

To begin with, the busy lifestyle of adults has a major contribution to the increasing emotional distance between parents and their offspring. This is because, elders invest all the time working in offices, giving little or no time to their family and children. Consequently, whenever required, youngsters seek advice from their friends and get more attached to their companions. For example, a study by The Human Relations claims that during adolescence, about 68% of teenagers do not get family support and guidance and are more likely to get influenced by their peers.

In addition to this, the restrictions and lack of emotional involvement by the teachers make it obvious for students to get carried away by those who offer them care as well as emotional support. Moreover, people at a young age have similar sentiments. Therefore, understanding among friends is far better. To exemplify, the likes and dislikes in terms of fashion, movies, games, and other activities are common for an age group. Also, empirical observations show that parents sometimes could not realize the feelings of their offspring due to the generation gap and age difference.

To conclude, it is incontrovertible that youngsters are influenced more by their fellows than their elders because of the less involvement of their guardians in their life and emotions, and more concern and empathy shown by their confidants.