Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reasons for this ? What are the advantages and disadvantages ?

Many people choose to settle and remain in their birthplace for their entire life. This may be due to feeling secure in a known location and having the advantage of continual family support. However, they may risk missing many opportunities by doing so.

To begin with, there are many reasons why most people choose to live near the place they was born. Firstly, when some safety people are familiar with the life there, so they often want to live in these places for a long time in stead of moving to a new place because it is difficult for them to get on well with the new things. For example, most of my cousin in my hometown often want to return to live in the place where they were born although they lived to study in Ha Noi 7 years ago. Moreover, the cost of new accomodation is too high for any people to purchase, which means that they would rather live in their home than moving away there.

The major advantage of remaining in one place is the support from their relatives and friends. By living close to parents there is built-in babysitting for example and the knowledge that should time become difficult the option of moving back into the parental home is available. Not only that but family bonds between the generations can become stronger as they can spend more time with each other more easily.

On the other hand, yet refraining from moving away can lead to lost opportunities, especially in one’s career. Improving your professional standing and income usually requires obtaining a superior job that may not be available close by. Therefore, refusing to move can mean stagnating in your career and being financially worse off in the long run.

In conclusion, relocating from one’s birthplace can be confronting, especially if one is risk-averse. Staying put also builds strong family relationships and the safety of familial support. However, it does mean that an individual may miss out on opportunities related to their careers.