Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Humanity has been defying the law and committing crimes during the history. There is an assumption that if people make an offence, authorities should punish them as severe as possible to decrease a crime level. At the same time, some individuals suppose government ought to practice soft methods to control society. Although, all people are afraid of being prisoned, but I agree that alternative ways possess higher influence than prison.

On the one hand, a long imprisonment is the most efficient method to reduce crimes due to an offender is being deprived of liberty. Thereby, freedom of action and movement is the crucial human’s right, thus nobody desires to lose it. This is because imprisonment for criminals is regarded as procedure to protect citizen’s lives and discipline them. For instance, the crime level in China is one of the lowest because it has severe prison sentences and even death penalty. In other word, authorities ought to strictly punish culprits not only to reduce amount of crimes, but also to keep stability in the state.

However, I believe that soft ways of punishment such as the public scrutiny and work, fines and house arrest are appropriate for modern humane generation. Therefore, after an imprisonment the life of people is losing its sense due to this fact everyone deserves the second chance. It means that criminals are also the citizens with their own rights, so government should use its “soft power” to make guilty human’s lives less hard. For example, in Switzerland 65% of punishments are public work and fines and it possesses the lowest rate of crimes. Thus, soft methods of punishment are more effective than imprisonment because they have higher influence on criminals.

In conclusion, imprisonment is efficient, but I think that soft punishments because government should value both criminals and citizens’ rights.