Some people think that children should be taught to be competitive in school. Others, however, say that cooperation and team working skills are more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Although it is sometimes thought that schools ought to teach children to compete, other people believe that the focus must be on coöperation. In my opinion, I consider that competition helps children learn the most important skills for their future life.

On the one hand, some people think that children who learn to compete against each other often do better in school and I agree. In other words, the competition between students motivates them to excel in their studies or tasks which so produces better academic performance and results. For example, students generally apply themselves and work harder when they are in direct competition with their classmates. Furthermore, being driven to do the best is vital to succeed later in life when, as adults, they must compete against others in the job market.

On the other hand, it is often believed that it is better if the emphasis at school is on cooperating with others. As people we do not live, work or socialize apart from others, so learning how to work alongside other people ought to be taught from childhood. Without these skills, children would lack the ability to communicate with each other or know how to deal with confrontations and conflicts in a constructive way. Another reason team skills are useful for children is that they learn how to negotiate with others to complete a task. This is an essential skill to learn for their future life.

In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I think that children stand a better chance to succeed both in school and later in life if they are encouraged to compete against each other.