Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve. Others believe individuals can also do some things to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The hazards in our environment are growing significantly and the overall situation is becoming out of control day by day. For this reason, some experts consider that large organizational bodies must take initiatives and individual level cannot do anything. However, some critics still believe, efforts should be taken from personal level. There are arguments on both sides, however, which we will discuss here.

On the one hand, it might be said that our environment is damaged in such a way that nobody can do anything alone effectively. For this reason, the large scale initiatives are to be taken involving governmental bodies. Furthermore, these kinds of giant activities requires lot of financial involvement which cannot be handled at individual level. For instance, for controlling the emmision of green house gases, government can implement laws strictly to different industrial sectors and can spend a lot of fund to resolve the drainage system related issues. No doubt that these major issues cannot be dealt by a single person.

Conversely, some people suggests that personal level awareness plays a pivotal role in managing the overall situation. Awareness can be started from individual level, and can be spread to national level. Therefore, from that point of view, each and every person can contribute a lot. In addition, participation at root level may not resolve the situation overnight, but consequences can be minimized. For example, at our level, we can stop littering and encourage dumping waste material to the right places. At the same time, we can reduce the usage the polyethylene bags while shopping and can support using biodegradable fibre-based shopping bags. Altogether, these can contribute to resolve environmental problems, albeit in small scale.

All things considered, we are almost on the brink of irreversible damage to the mother nature. Personally, I believe a cooperational approach from both personal and national level can be made to redress the balance.