Some people think that a high salary is important when choosing a company to work for, while others think that a good working atmosphere is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although it is sometimes thought that a high salary is vital, other people believe that a healthy work environment is more crucial. In my opinion, I consider working in a good atmosphere extremely important for a better quality of life and is, indeed, invaluable.

On the one hand, some think that having good working conditions is a precursor for a life of higher quality and I agree. In other words, if work provided the employee with a stress free environment this will reflect on his or her psychological and physical health, unlike a stressful one which is detrimental for one’s wellbeing. Furthermore, it will benefit both the employer and the employee. This is exemplified in the technological giant, Facebook, where employees are provided with the best conditions to work in, consequently they prosper and focus on developing the best plans and solutions needed for thier company’s advancement. It is a win win situation.

On the other hand, it is often believed that a higher monthly pay is more beneficial since it represents a compensation. Valuing salary has been the norm for the past decades, even if the working atmosphere is not optimal, as many people do not like thier jobs so they consider thier monthly income as a method of repaying them for the hardships they go through to work, namely waking up early, getting stuck in traffic and working for someone else. Moreover, they believe that a better salary would enable them to afford the quality of life they aspire to. Traveling or buying an expensive car, for instance, is a satisfying pathway of making uo for not having a satisfactory working environment.

In conclusion, while people may vary in thier opinion, I think that employees stand a better chance to have a more advanced quality of life and a balanced wellbeing if thier working environment is healthy.