Most people prefer ready to eat meals rather homemade food these days. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Preferring ready to eat meals is becoming more popular than food made at home today. This could be time-saving, more practical and less expensive than homemade meals, but it has a couple of drawbacks that could not be overlooked.

On the one hand, one crucial benefit of ready-meals is that it is time-saving. Where grocery shopping as well as cooking time will be eliminated. Moreover, it is helpful, especially for working mother who are looking for less time-consuming methods to feed their family members efficiently, for instance, to save both, energy and extended periods of time on preparing food. Rather than taking care of their children when they come home from a long exhausting day at work. Additionally, as a result of the highly competitive market it has become less expensive to buy ready-made meals than buying fresh components such as fruits, vegetables and dairy products. Consequently, people looking for pathways to a lower budget would opt for this option.

On the other hand, a well-known issue about ready-made meals is that they are mostly unhealthy. This is exemplified by the pop-in-the-microwave mac and cheese. Which are saturated with fats, artificial flavours, food coloring and sodium chloride, commonly known as table salt. Summing up to a tremendous calorie count and a low nutritional value, hence detrimentally impacting health. Another problematic outcome of this prevailing trend is that it will affect local traditional cuisine. In other words, each country has its specific traditional recipes, which makes it unique among other places, losing this characteristic will impact the connection future generations have with their origins. Cultural heritage would never be the same if we exclude the local cuisine.

In conclusion, despite having some positive attributes to ready-made meals, it could adversely affect health and traditional cuisine. There should be more balanced diet to sustain a healthier lifestyle.