Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years.

Reappearing for driving test should be made mandatory after every 5 years, is a mundane thought today. While this scheme offers some benefits, it would also have few drawbacks.

Using two or four wheelers demands long practice hours without causing any harm on roads neither to any living being nor to any stationary or moving object. Since extreme caution and concentration are involved in the activity, appearing for assessment in sixty months guarantees that skills are still present and can be utilised. Secondly, accidents count will come down significantly, if evaluation keeps on happening periodically. As a result, burden on government and insurance companies might be mitigated considerably, thereby promoting healthy transportation and economy. Therefore, permit may be given to only those, who pass all these criteria, helping in ensuring the safe and smooth journey and infrastructure.

On the other hand, taking this exam in such a short interval is an overhead in itself. To begin with, people have less capacity at their disposal for this task, as they already are pre-occupied with their hectic schedule and maintaining decent work-life balance. Moreover, with population expanding at a rapid rate, more and more number of citizens are learning the art and need to sit in this. Consequently, more monitoring would be required by various agencies managing and conducting this, which could create a scene of chaos at centers when handled ineffectively.

In conclusion, periodical verification of license is an efficient way of avoiding any mishaps. However, the time duration ought to be increased by more weeks for an optimal solution.