Some people think it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent.

Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Describe the skills a person needs to be a good parent.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It is believed by many that, young adults should be taught to be a good parent and this education should start from schools. I disagree with this statement that educational institutes are responsible for teaching parenthood and child-rearing. Parenting is a process of promoting a child physically and mentally.

School’s priority is to teach the academic subjects rather than the parental role. Even though academics is to create a better future generation, and parenting is the part of their future role, it does not fetch them a job or financial stability which are most important for a successful future.

Another reason is that teenagers might not have the maturity to understand the responsibilities of a parent. To understand what is taught in class they themselves have to connect with such conditions which in their current situation may not be able to because they themselves are growing up. Teaching parenting to a child is not advisable.

Furthermore, the skills needed to become a good father or mother is developed from understanding and adopting. Child-rearing involves caring, protection, understanding etc. In other words, a child needs parental support both physically and mentally. Parents need to give their children a good education, food, better healthcare and relaxed life, for this financial stability of parents is most important. Better education will ensure better human being with advanced life skills which is the most important factor for child-rearing.

To conclude, schools should concentrate on academic subjects and develop better and financially future generation. This will, in turn, create a better future parent who can support their offspring in a better way.