Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged.

Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete

become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Modern societies nowadays require juveniles minds who are both competitive and cooperative for progression. While many people believe that adolescents who are taught to co-operate than compete tend to become useful adults where as others disagree. In my opinion, children should be taught co-operation as this builds the right base for them to co-work with the external interfaces for achieving success and becoming successful adults in both professional as well as personal lives. In the below essay I will elucidate both sides of the argument and put forward my opinion to conclude.

Firstly in this era of fierce competition for better education and jobs, it is common these days for parents and teachers to inculcate a sense of competition in children from a tender age. They feel that the children who learn to be competitive will be able to face any challenges in life to become successful adults. For instance, in many schools in India adolescents from a tender age are put under so much pressure from their guardians to score better marks thus inculcating a sense a competition.

Similarly, on the other hand, it can be seen that there are others who argue that children should be taught co-operation than anything else. such a quality will enable them to be a better team player for any outside competition, therefore, making them successful. For instance, in Japan, many juveniles are taught co-operation as the teachers believe that in the society where success is dependent on external factors like teamwork having such a quality will enable them to make adults who can contribute back to the society.

To sum up it is evident that although a sense of competition is necessary for survival however skills such as co-operation are mandatory for achieving success and becoming useful adults.