Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the function of a university?

Nowadays, having a university degree open doors to better job opportunities in different parts of the world and the importance of this issue is on the increase among the residents of the globe. People have different views on the issue of whether the world class universities should provide their students with practical skills that are beneficial in the working environment or not. I believe that not only the theoretical parts of the lessons should be take into consideration but also the vocational training and skills should be taught as well.

On the one hand, studying at university give students the chance to learn some interpersonal skills such as how to delegate a task or how to work in a team that are greatly useful at workplace. Besides, companies usually choose their employees based on their qualification, experiences and the skills that they obtained through their educational and work career. Furthermore, practical skills and the knowledge are key factors for feeling fulfilled professionally at work and is a basic need for individuals who seek a job. A salient example of this is the USA that conducted a survey in 2008 about the parameters that are influential in employing a workforce and up to 45% of the employers opt their subordinates out of those who had some skills.

On the other hand, the importance of university academic subjects should not be neglected. The academic subjects are the key points for those who desire to continue their academic education in higher levels. Besides the university timetable is almost full and the professors have no extra time for further subjects such as practical skills. Furthermore, skills can be learnt in the market and during the job career or even by attending some vocational training. Moreover, the researches and thesis that university student do during their education assist them in gaining more experience and would lead to learning skills.

In conclusion, not only the academic subjects but also the skills can help university graduates to access better job opportunities in the future. The university students can obtain skills and experiences through the researches and the thesis they accomplish.