Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, double income families have become a norm and most of the people work hard in order to reach their goals and make a living so having some time for recreational activities is a necessity for individuals. People have different views on the issue of whether hobbies should be difficult to be more pleasant or not. To a certain extend I agree that the more difficult leisure activities are more exciting but I also think that the hobbies that are not tough can be amusing as well.

There are some persuasive arguments in favor of less difficult activities and hobbies. Firstly, leisure activities are supposed to be entertaining and amusing and they do not need to be difficult to cover these features. Secondly, the modern life style brings a large amount of stress and anxiety to human beings' lives and consequently they need some recreational activities that sooth their mind, give them a nice relaxation and lift up their spirit such as playing a musical instrument, gardening, swimming, collecting stamps and the like. A salient example of this is USA that conducted a survey in 2008 about the popularity of easy hobbies among people and the result reveals that almost 70% of fellows were advocates of less difficult leisure activities.

On the other hand, some people argue that more challenging sports and activities such as banjo jumping, rock climbing, rock biking, scuba diving and surfing are much more exciting and interesting since they could raise the blood Adrenalin which leads to happiness and excitement in people. Furthermore, fulfilling these types of activities need a potent concentration and as a result the people who are involving them have no time to think about their daily routines and problems. To support my claim, I can refer to an article having been published in Times magazine, indicates that that majority of residents of European countries are interested in difficult hobbies and they find these activities more appealing.

In conclusion, although excitement has a significant role in people's life, we should choose a hobby that suits our personality since it would effect our life and spirit in a decent way.