Some people think that when recruiting, companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently while others considered they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Today we are living in an era of competitiveness where we often face challenges while recruiting people for a particular job. Some people argue that one should look for independent and innovative workers while others have a point of view that team work is the basic virtue we should look in candidates while selecting them. However, both view points have their due weightage in my eyes, as it all depends on the nature of work for which a person is evaluated. In following lines I am going to discuss both these views with some examples and will also elaborate my take on this matter.

To start with the people believing to hire innovative people who can also work independently or with lesser supervision. To reiterate the view, people with innovative and intuitive mind set can bring higher productivity as well as effectiveness in work. for instance in Software industry, everything depends upon the structure and the design of the software solution, and to achieve any success in that we need to hire people with intuitive skills who could create innovative patterns on their own. Secondly there are some jobs which require individual minds rather than team work, such as, if we are looking for architectures people with different inputs may ruin the project. So it is imperative to have innovative individuals who will work alone and in individual capacity to get maximum results.

Nevertheless, there are some bases of selection of people who are good at working in teams and are also obedient to the orders given. Firstly, tasks performed in teams are more efficient as compared to the work done alone. When working in teams, it provides a leeway to the employers to plan for successors and there is no one point of failure in such cases. For example, construction work needs teamwork, so if any worker is unable to do a specific task, he/she can ask for help from other team members and the work will not suffer at all. Secondly, adherence to the orders given will enable the overall process to be standardized as one person will be responsible to design a process which will enable many individuals to follow in a defined manner.

To recapitulate, the nature of work will be the main factor to look at while selecting people. There might be some jobs that require innovative and individual workers and on the other hand there are some tasks that require rigorous teamwork and adherence to orders.