Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the history of humankind, the last couple of decades have seen more advancements in healthcare and life sciences than any other time. With the advent of these advancements, certainly the life expectancy has gone up significantly. Some policymakers may argue that the active work force should therefore serve more tenure than before. However, I strongly believe that people should retire at the same age as before and bring more value to their life by spending quality time with their families, nurturing their hobbies and giving back to the society.

This first argument connects timely retirement with spending more quality time with family in light of grown consumer mindset. With the progress in technology and growth in economy, what has also grown drastically is the ever-changing consumer market. For the rich, it is about earning more and more to buy that most expensive car or property and for the poor, it is about earning more and more to constantly match the ever-increasing inflation. In the midst of constantly working and earning, humankind is forgetting to spend quality time with their families. Be is about missing birthdays for important meetings or be it constantly travelling for work away from family. In my opinion, the timely retirement will really enable those family bonds to be intact and at least let people enjoy some time with their near and dear ones.

Notwithstanding the above salient reason, giving time for hobbies and social work further reinforces that retirement tenure should not be extended. To illustrate on the first supportive argument, it is vital for all human beings to have hobbies to uplift their human spirit. Hobbies such as music, art, reading, gardening and the likes have known to have far greater impact on human psychology and health. In today’s time, humans have just become slaves of machines who slog day-in-day out without paying any heed to their inner voice and longing towards their hobbies. While this point does resonate well with reiterating why the retirement tenure should be as it was; I believe mankind also bears the responsibility to give back to the society. While in the work force, we hardly see anyone creating larger impact on our society and fighting for burning issues like pollution, deforestation, uplifting the poor and so on. If the life expectancy has gone up, people should retire and devote their time to social cause.

The factors mentioned above explain and support why the tenure of retirement should be as is, and also emphasis that in today’s world of constant hustle, usually people look forward to their retirement to live a more quality life.