Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. What problems are caused by this issue? What can be done to solve this situation?

In recent years an increasingly large number of adults are abandoning their villages and migrating to urban and suburban areas; as a result, countryside is inhabited by only the elderly. While this situation can produce several negative impacts on the society, there are numerous measures to combat this issue.

To begin with, the migration of teenagers and adults has resulted in two major problems. Firstly, due to the lack of young manpower, many aged people are dying for not being able to rich at hospital on time. If sons and daughters of those disable parents were there, none of them had to die untimely since their children would take them to nearby hospital. Secondly, there has been a significant reduction in the agricultural production. This is because there is virtually no manpower to work in the farm to cultivate and harvest resulting in the decline in the crop production. For example, based on the statement of Department of Home Affairs of India, the agricultural productivity of India has reduced by two-thirds as compared to the productivity they achieved in 2005. The report claims that such dramatic decline is directly linked with the migration rate.

Nonetheless, several methods can be employed to alleviate this issue. The governments should at first make an effort to build the infrastructure of rural areas. It is true that a large majority of people migrate to towns and cities to improve their living standard as all the necessary infrastructures are available in urban areas. Therefore, construction of road, cinema hall, shopping markets, availability of telecommunication, and TV channels in countryside would definitely control the rate of migration. Furthermore, governments should also formulate some policies regarding the way to increase the annual income of farmers. In addition to infrastructure, opportunity to generate enough money from agriculture would also motivate the youngsters to continue living in their place.

In conclusion, because of migration of young people from villages, many old people are dying untimely as there is no one to take them to hospital; moreover, it has also negatively impacted on the crop production. Nevertheless, with the establishment of infrastructure and rise in the annual salary of farmers, migration can be effectively reduced.