Both the poor and the rich find the accessibility into university difficult. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that getting admission in universities are becoming tougher not only for financially poor but also for wealthy students. I, however, presume that economically weaker students are facing this bitter reality rather than financially wealthier students. It is because poor students simply cannot fulfil two major selection criteria of universities and colleges: university fees and outstanding grades.

Prohibitively expensive fees that are required for admission have refrained thousands of students away from attaining tertiary education. In most of the industrialized and developing countries, fee per semester exceeds hundredfold the average incomes of the residents, which has resulted in the decline of the number of graduates representing the unprivileged class. This scenario can be reinforced from the recent statistics issued by the UN headquarter, which reveals that 1,000,000 students from all over the globe failed to join universities just being unable to afford the tuition fees.

Furthermore, enrolling students on the basis of grades in high school and scores in university entrance exam has also proven to be against the students from poor family. This is because a large majority of poor students have low grades both in high school and university qualification test; contrarily, their counterparts from moneyed family possess higher scores in every test. The underlying reason for outstanding performances of affluent students is directly linked to the advanced infrastructure of their high school as well as the ability of their parents to hire home tutors for specific subject. Hence, the poverty results in incompetent students and consequently restrict them away from university degrees.

In conclusion, requirement of large money and excellent academic qualification has substantially reduced the number of students from poor family in universities; as a result, only rich people are privileged for attaining higher education.