Studies show that many criminals do not receive enough education. For this reason, people believe that the best ways to reduce crime is to educate them so they can find a job after being released. Do you agree or disagree?

There are several factors that contribute to committing criminal actions such as low level of education. Studies illustrate that there is a link between crime and lack of appropriate education. Therefore, it is believed that to combat the crime effectively government should invest its money and time in educating the prisoners. Although I find this argument logical and feasible, there are other measures that must be taken to account to ensure its success.

One the one hand, people with higher education have better opportunities in landing a decent job. There is almost next to nothing career prospect for those who do not have any practical or academic skills except manual or labor jobs which mostly result in part-time employment. This instability explains the reason why individuals with improper education have a tendency to fall prey to gangs which promise easy and abundant money. Moreover, lack of moral education causes convicts to act irresponsibly, without considering the possible consequences of their disruptive behavior. As a result, teaching inmates valuable social and practical skills such as communication, moral values and various professional skills such as cooking meals or repairing cars can significantly boost prisoners’ chances of turning their life around.

On the other hand, educating criminals on its own cannot reduce the number of law-breakers since there are other factors at play too. For instance, a weak economy with struggling businesses means fewer number of jobs available even for an educated and experienced worker. Based on a report published in The Guardian last month, the crime rate increases drastically whenever there is an economy recession. Moreover, there are some felons who have excellent academic qualifications and are considerably wealthy and yet carry out heinous wrongdoings such as rape and murder only for fun. These violent criminals usually have psychological problems. Hence, education is just one of many reasons leading to executing crimes and improving it cannot eradicate all types of crimes.

In conclusion, although education can reduce the number of criminals, it is not the only reason behind criminal behavior, and thus in order to combat the crime other contributors must also be dealt with.