Subjects like arts, music and drama are more important than other school subjects and therefore should be give more time in the calendar.

Do you agree or disagree?

Presently, the issue of weight-age of different subjects in the school curriculum has risen into prominence in many places around the world. However, it is a controversial topic introducing heavy debate concerns the addition of more artistic subjects. That is why, there has been a growing body of opinion in favor of scheduling more time for subjects of music, art, and drama in the calendar year of educational institutes. I wholeheartedly concur with this school of thought because more exposure to artistic subjects would not only help students to express their emotions easily but also enable them to earn money in their adulthood.

Unquestionably, more time spent on the art curriculum in schools would ensure that children are able to convey their emotions through art activities, for example, to draw a painting, to sing a song, or play a role in a drama. A statistic was recently released demonstrating the fact that art subjects stimulate critical thinking at a young age, enabling them to understand different perspectives of life. Eventually, pupils learn to analyze what they are feeling and how to express it using art.

Let us not forget either that more focus on these subjects might help students to adopt it as a profession in their future lives. As competition in other academic subjects is stiff, students find it excruciating to find a job related to that study. On the contrary, areas namely music, art or dance offer a variety of choices to get in for earning a decent amount of money. Thorough research has been conducted by Harvard University, the UK in 2015 using an online survey with a sample size of more than 1000 Indians spanning different age groups and found that they did not get jobs on the basis of academic subjects, thus, adopting their art interest as their professions. Thus, the plausibility of more focus on artistic subjects in schools is clear.

There are some believers who are in consummate discord with the above viewpoint and opine that other academic subjects must be allotted more time in schools considering them nonpareil for having students' strong base in studies. However, I say that instead of putting extreme pressure on theoretical subjects, schools need to indulge young ones in more relaxed art subjects with the aim of making them more productive in studies.

Following this look, even though other academic subjects such as math and science play a vital role in the academic areas, schools ought to assign more periods on subjects of art. If authorities invested more in these crucial subjects of arts, students would not perceive going to school as a boring routine.