Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas.

What are your opinions on this?

Many are increasingly believing that instead of selling both local and imported food, retail food stores should sell only the former. For some compelling reasons, which will be discussed now, I do not concur with this sentiment.

In my opinion, local as well as foreign produce should be available in the marketplace.

To begin with, in some countries, there is a scarcity of arable land which forces them to sign trade agreements in order to meet the demand of its population. For instance, although many middle Eastern countries have rich economies, they cannot grow their own food due to unfavourable farming conditions. Similarly, countries facing harsh climate, namely Canada and the UK, import large proportions of food. If such countries decide to sell only locally grown food, they will not me able to feed their demographic. Furthermore, if shops have just local food, it deprive people of the chance to consume international food. In other words, they will be left with limited options to chose from. Only by selling a variety of different food products can the general populace be able to taste exotic fruits and vegetables. For instance, Kiwi that is native to Australia, is now widely available throughout the world. Lastly, import and export seem to only only help in building stronger international relationships between countries but also create global recognition for countries involved.

Having said that, some people contend that local food is more nutritious since they are not packed with chemicals and preservatives that are usually used for preserving food that are exported to long distance. Buying food locally assist support local farmers and agriculture industry.

In conclusion, while there are some convincing arguments against selling international food, in my view, the benefits accrued from importing food outweigh the downsides.