There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measurements will be needed. Discuss both sides.

Discussing about increase in the number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many believe that other measures will be needed. In my view, death sentence alone cannot bring down the crime rate as other reinforcements need to be applied.

Countries which unsuccessfully use only capital punishment to curb wrongdoings. Instead, it has been observed that hard-core criminals are not moved by such sentences. At times, a family member of the criminal who faces death sentence also ends up becoming a criminal. Thus, needless to say, all these associated demerits of supreme punishment tell that it is not a viable solution.

To consider the alternative ways to punish the criminals, re-education has proved to be one of the most successful components to reduce the crime rate. There are many non-governmental organizations who have successfully converted criminals to useful citizens of society and contributed immensely in the national interests. Apart from this, from social standpoint, giving ample employment opportunities to youth also reduces the crime rate. To embark this, another pivotal facet of argument is that positive aspects outweigh the negative ones.

To conclude, I would say that hatred and inhumanity results in more crime rather than reducing it. As Mahatma Gandhi said, "an eye for an eye will make the whole world blind". Citizen friendly approaches are more useful in bringing down the crime rate.