Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic.

What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Technological advancement and the internet explosion over the last few decades have given people an access to information and knowledge that was earlier never available to them. They are aware of places which were not even heard of earlier. Higher levels of income have led to higher spending power of individuals, thereby giving them more resources to reach and explore challenging places like the Sahara desert and the Antarctic. That is probably the reason why today several tourists have started choosing to visit destinations where conditions are difficult. Television shows like Man vs. Wild have further added to this pattern by inducing a certain level of excitement among them.

Scanty population in these areas not just helps the travellers rejuvenate themselves in isolation but also provide them a spectacular view of the untouched natural beauty while giving them an opportunity to be away from the urban way of living. Successful completion of these trips, boost the confidence levels manifold.

These destinations are certainly magnificent but also come with various perils associated with them. 16 Hours is a movie based upon a real life incident where a traveller, who is on a solo trip, gets trapped in a mountain crack with his arm stuck under an enormous rock for 16 hours with no food, no water and no one around to his rescue. These places test the survival instincts to the fullest and may even turn out to be life threatening.

In conclusion, no matter how fascinating it may appear, the crucial thing before undertaking such adventurous trips is to do a proper research, weigh all the related pros and cons and then decide whether or not it is worth taking a risk.